Chesapeake Valor Series Book Review

Chesapeake Valor Series Book Review

by Author Dani Pettrey

This weekend I read both Cold Shot and Blind Spot, books 1 and 3 of the Chesapeake Valor series. Why didn’t I read book 2? Well, I read that early last year, unaware at the time that it was in the middle of a series. It appears that I did not review the book when I first read it, so I am including it now. And since book 4 is set to release this July, I am doing a review about the whole amazing series!

My Thoughts: If you love Christian Romantic Suspense, read this series! That’s all I got to say. Okay, not quite. I did enjoy this series. It has just enough suspense to give you the willies and the heebie-jeebies, but not enough to give you nightmares. I will say that I found the second book, Still Life, to be more frightening than the others.

The series evolves from book 1 and 2 into a terrorist threat type suspense, so if you are looking for a run-of-the-mill crime/mystery book, this is not the right series.

“An attack was headed for U.S. soil, and no one was doing a thing to acknowledge it- let alone stop it.”

Each of the books do begin with a lot of telling, but that changes once the author has acclimated the reader to the story. Things move pretty quickly later on in the story.

It has some startling violent descriptions, minced oath-type words, and “thoughts” (only thoughts) regarding physical intimacies. That is the direction of contemporary Christian fiction, they have a more modern view on dating relationships and the characters have more modern thoughts about someone appearing “hot” or “sexy.” So, I would call this an adult series and not something you want your teenage girl to read, for those who prefer more innocent material.

I enjoyed the characters close relationships with the Lord, even praying during times of distress and seeking His guidance through-out their cases. They often think and talk about Jesus, prayer, and salvation.

“Dear Father, you are sending us out among wolves. Please keep us safe. Please guide us to the truth, and help us to see justice done.”

They also try to build their romantic relationships in a proper way and I enjoyed that aspect of the story. I thought, Blind Spot, to be more romantically focused than the other two.

“How had Tanner stolen his heart without him seeing it coming, and what did he do about it amidst a case that was threatening their lives?”

The stories have a definite theme of letting go of the past and moving into the future without the baggage of past failures and regrets. Each of these characters have made mistakes and work to overcome them through the Lord’s strength. We can’t change the past, but we can keep it from destroying their futures. Nothing in the past is worth holding us back from the love and joy God wants to give his children. It’s all Under the Blood!

“Tanner had known this day would come. She couldn’t hide from her past forever, couldn’t hit it from her friends any longer. Today was her day of reckoning. She prayed they didn’t feel differently about her afterward, but how could they not?”

Cold Shot (Chesapeake Valor Book #1)

Cold Shot

In college, Griffin McCray and his three best friends had their lives planned out. Griffin and Luke Gallagher would join the Baltimore PD. Declan Gray would head to the FBI and Parker Mitchell would go on to graduate school as a crime scene analyst. But then Luke vanished before graduation and their world–and friendships–crumbled.

Now Griffin is a park ranger at Gettysburg, having left life as a SWAT-team sniper when a case went bad. The job is mostly quiet–until the day he captures two relic hunters uncovering skeletal remains near Little Round Top. Griffin just wants the case to go away, but charming forensic anthropologist Finley Scott determines that the body is modern–a young social justice lawyer missing since spring–and all evidence points to the work of an expert sniper. When FBI agent Declan Gray takes over the case, past and present collide. Griffin soon realizes he’ll need to confront some of the darkest days of his life if he–and those he cares about–are going to escape a downward spiral of murder that crosses continents.

Still Life (Chesapeake Valor Book #2)

Still Life

Blacklisted in the photography business over a controversial shot, Avery Tate answered an ad for a crime scene photographer. She expected to be laughed at, but crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell hired her outright–and changed her life. But six months ago, when her feelings for Parker became too strong, she left his employ to sort out her heart.

Now, for the first time, Avery is facing the world that rejected her to attend the gallery opening of a photography exhibit and support her best friend, who modeled for the show. But the only image of her friend is a chilling photo of her posing as if dead–and the photographer insists he didn’t take the shot. Worse, her friend can’t be found. She immediately calls Parker for help. As Avery, Parker, and his friends in law enforcement dig into the mystery, they find themselves face-to-face with a relentless and deadly threat.

Blind Spot (Chesapeake Valor Book #3)

Blind Spot

FBI agent Declan Grey is in the chase of his life–but isn’t sure exactly what he’s chasing after. Threatened by a terrorist that “the wrath is coming,” Grey fears something horrible is about to be unleashed on American soil. When his investigation leads him to a closed immigrant community, he turns to Tanner Shaw to help him. She’s sought justice for refugees and the hurting around the world, and if there’s anyone who can help him, it’s Tanner.

Tanner Shaw has joined the FBI as a crisis counselor . . . meaning she now has more opportunity to butt heads with Declan. But that tension also includes a spark she can’t deny, and she’s pretty sure Declan feels the same. But before anything can develop between them, they discover evidence of a terror cell–and soon are in a race against the clock to stop the coming “wrath” that could cost thousands their lives.


Dead Drift (Chesapeake Valor Book #4) Coming July 3rd!!

Dead Drift

Burning debris littering the ground . . . smoke pluming in the acrid air . . . this is just the beginning if he fails.

Seven years ago, operative Luke Gallagher vanished to become part of an elite team set on capturing a deadly terrorist. When Luke returns to face those he left behind, their help becomes his only hope of stopping his target’s latest threat of an attack that would shake America to its core.

Private investigator Kate Maxwell never stopped loving or looking for Luke after he disappeared. But she also never imagined he left her or his life by choice. Now he’s back, and together they must unravel a twisting thread of secrets, lies, and betrayal, all while on the brink of a biological disaster.

Will they and their love survive, or will Luke and Kate become the terrorist’s next mark?

About the Author

Dani PettreyDani Pettrey is a wife, homeschooling mom and author. She feels blessed to write inspirational romantic suspense because it incorporates so many things she loves–the thrill of adventure, nail-biting suspense, the deepening of one’s faith and plenty of romance. She’s a huge fan of dark chocolate, is always in search of the best iced mocha and her dream is to one day own a little cottage on a remote stretch of beach. She and her husband reside in Maryland with their two teenage daughters. Visit her web site at!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s