Author Interview with Abigail Harris

Welcome!

Introducing Abigail Harris!

Abigail Kay Harris is a daughter of the King with a personal degree in book-nerdiness. A sister to seven, her passionate love of the written word and deeper meanings hidden in normal things leads her to spend her time reading, writing, using sarcasm, and defining obscure words. When she’s not chasing words, she enjoys watching shows, classic romance movies, tea, sunrises, and the outdoors, especially mountains, beaches, and forests.

Follow/contact links:

Interview with Abigail

When did you first realize you wanted to be a writer?

In my early teens when I “met” several authors online and I knew I wanted to write from then on.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I can’t know what will happen in my story or get ideas until I have the first draft finished.

Where do you get your information or ideas for your books?

Lots of ways, mostly songs. I pick a song. I pick a theme from that song, and I scroll through Pinterest, read books in the same genre, and go from there after brainstorming with friends.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Read? Haha, I really love reading, creating graphic design, photography, and I love writing by hand for fun.

What is the most surprising things you learned in creating your book?

Formatting is a crazy pain to learn but so much fun once I knew what I was doing.

Do you have any suggestions to help someone become a better writer? If so, what are they?

You can do all the research you want. You can read every book out there on writing. You can be coached. You can join a critique group. But you will never succeed as a writer unless you type that first draft and you let yourself show through, be you. Not every piece of advice you’ve ever received is for you. Be ready to break the “writing rules” like writing only one genre, or never sharing your writing until your first draft is finished, or any of the millions of “rules” you’ve heard. I got trapped in trying to be other writers when suddenly I realized I could be myself. I don’t need to write like so and so, I don’t need to plot or not plot. I could be a plotter, a pantster, or a mix, or whatever I was, I just had to find out for myself.

Also, I highly recommend that writers check out “How to Write A Novel Using the Snowflake Method”. It taught me a lot about writing while still telling me to be myself and to use the advice that worked for me.

What’s your favorite part about being a writer? Research? First draft? Editing?

Editing is my favorite and my VERY least favorite thing about writing, I love it and I hate it all at once. I also love formatting, formatting was one of the hardest things to figure out but it was also a lot of fun to learn something new.

What do you think makes a good story?

Characters who fit the story! To me a character has to be real in the story or it isn’t a good story.

As a child, what did you want to do when you grew up?

Haha! I wanted to be a writer. And I’m now an author!

What project are you working on now, and how do we find your books?

I am working on the other books in the Oh, The Brave series, each of which will be released in the next two years. Oh, The Lamented will release on November 11th of this year, Oh, The Dwindling will release on July 4th of 2022, and Oh, The Slain will release on September 11th, 2022. There’s one other story in the series that may be a full novel so it has a pending release date and the rest of the stories will come some time in between, I’m figuring that out after Oh, The Fallen is all released and everything is finished for the launch.

About the Book

Name of Book: Oh, the Fallen

Genre of Book: Christian fiction, military romance

Series: Oh, the Brave

Release Date: May 3, 2021

Back Cover Blurb:

In the cause of freedom, some will give their all.

When Matt Renicker joins the Army, he’s determined to give his best for his country and his Lord, even if it means risking everything he loves most. But when tragedy strikes on a routine patrol, more than one heart is left shattered and lamenting.

In the wake of a terrible loss, will those left behind find the strength to go on? Or will the faith, family, and freedom Matt fought to preserve be broken beyond repair?

Purchase Link:  https://amzn.to/3tmYUkw

Tour Schedule

MAY 27th

Jaybird Summers | Shelf Control: Interview

MAY 28th

Madeline Clouse | Simply Madeline Eve: Review

Natalie Claire | Kenmore Pines: Review

A.M. Heath | Author A.M. Heath: Spotlight

MAY 29th

Anna Grace | Anna’s Ideas: Interview

MAY 30th

Gina Holder | Gina Holder, Author and Blogger: Interview

MAY 31st

Esther Jackson | : Review and Interview

Ryana Lynn Peterson | Life of Heritage: Review and Guest Post

Grace A. Johnson | Grabbing with Grace: Interview and Review

JUNE 1st

Rachel Rossano | Rachel Rossano’s Words: Interview

Kelly Barr | Kelly F. Barr: Interview

JUNE 2ndKatja L. | Old-Fashioned Book Love: Review

3 thoughts on “Author Interview with Abigail Harris

Leave a comment